Friday, May 24, 2013

Your Character's Love Language

Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. ~Romans 12:10 NLT

So, what is your character's love language?  This means, what do they appreciate the most?
1.  Words of Affirmation (compliments, advice, encouragement, etc.) 
If words are important, than negative words can hurt much more to this person than they would to someone whose love language wasn't words of affirmation.

2.  Physical touch (hugs, holding one's hand, etc.)
If physical touch is important to your character, than they probably won't mind hugging someone they love (like a brother or a sister) who is really dirty.  Unless they're germaphobic.

3.  Quality time (one on one deep or light conversations, with undivided attention between two people)
For these people, understanding one another can mean a lot.  Pouring their heart out to someone special can be important to them.

4.  Gift-receiving/giving (both  little and big gifts, handmade or bought)
A gift can seem like more than a gift to someone whose love language is found in gift-giving.  And the character might be hurt more if someone else doesn't appreciate the gift the character gave.

5.  Acts of service (helping out with homework, doing dishes, chores, etc.)
For these people, doing some work long overdue for another means a lot.  Actions can speak louder than words. 



  1. Interesting. =)
    Affirmation is definitely important.

  2. wow, I never thought about using love languages for characters... This is a GREAT tool for development!!! Thanks!!

  3. You're welcome! I was just thinking about love languages in real life and then it clicked to use it in story to help identify our characters. So that's really cool. :D

  4. What a creative angle to look at your characters with! Thanks for the inspiration :)

  5. You're welcome! Thanks for checking out my blog! I've been looking everywhere for ways to deepen characters, since I like to write stories.